Presentation Night Successes

Clubhouse, Bexley
A packed Clubhouse saw a revived Presentation Night take place last Saturday, where the successes from 2017 were celebrated. Athletes – young and old, coaches, officials and parents from the Club gathered to toast the top athletes and performances.

The Ladies Challenge Trophy for the most outstanding performance was awarded to Sophie Lewis Ward and the Needham-Rider Trophy for best male performance was awarded to Alex Macheath.

Nana Gyedu had a particularly successful night taking home a host of trophies. Nana was awarded the Mick Paul Trophy, The Allison Trophy, The Christine Bond Trophy and the Peter Wishart Trophy.

The awards were rounded off by Ron Allison BEM being awarded the President’s Trophy. (A full list of the award recipients is detailed below)

The sold-out evening was a great night where the Club came together over food and friendship and it gave us a chance to celebrate all the effort that goes in to the Club. Congratulations go to all those that played their part.


Ailbhe Barnes with Past President Andrew Knight

Nana Gyedu with President David Reader


Luke Okosieme with President David Reader


Ron Allison BEM receiving the President’s Trophy.

Trophy Awards – Senior and Junior Women
Ladies Challenge Trophy Most Outstanding Performance Sophie Lewis Ward Ranked 1st U20 in the country after 24:57.51 5k RW at British Athletics Championships in Birmingham on 2 July 2017
Club Girl of the Year           Christine Bond For bringing the Club’s women together including managing the vets team and drawing women into the club for track & field, & Cross country from Park Runs and Thursday running sisters. Also for competing all year round, getting marshals for the Red start of London Marathon, socially bringing together the Masters team & generally helping out at club events.
Angers Trophy      Best Cross Country Runner – Season Ailbhe Barnes 7th National XC 2017, 8th CAU XC 2017, 2nd Kent XC 2018, 10th SEAA XC 2018
Mick Paul Trophy Outstanding Performance U17/U15 Nana Gyedu 13.86m SP (1st place) at English Schools Championships at Birmingham on18 July 2017
The Allison Trophy Most Improved during the Year Nana Gyedu Improvement in SP from 11.33m to 14.33m at Bromley on 14 August 2017
The Mick Bond Trophy Best Field Performance by Senior or U20 Woman Paige Macheath 37.89m JT at SEAA Championships at Crystal Palace on 10 June 2017
The Christine Bond Trophy Best Field Performance by an U17 Woman Ayanna Henry 1.60m HJ at YDL at Croydon on23 July 2017
The Christine Bond Trophy Best Field Performance by an U15 Woman Nana Gyedu 14.33m SP at Bromley on 14 August 2017
Bill Chattenton Trophy Most Track & Field Appearances Cleo Agyepong, Jade Fitt, Molly Hawkins, Esther Jackson, Natalie Mann & Kacey Walters 100% appearances
P.W. Davies Trophy Most Cross Country Appearances Susan Dixon & Molly Hawkins 7 appearances each
Pauline Burridge Trophy Best 400m Performance Jade Fitt 59.31 in UK YDL at Croydon on 28 May 17
Pauline Marshall Trophy Best 800m Performance Caroline Ford 2:06.48 in UK Women's League Premier Division at Bromley on 16 July 2017
Mark Newell Trophy           Under 17 Club Girl of the Year Lara Atkinson KCCL U17 Champion 2017/8, 2nd Kent Cross Country U17 W 2018 and Kent 1500m Champion 2017
Past Presidents’ Trophy Under 15 Club Girl of the Year Ailbhe Barnes Not only X-Country record (see Angers Trophy) but also improved her 800m & 1500m in 2017
Pat Davidson Trophy Under 13 Club Girl of the Year Cleo Agyepong /Kacey Walters  
Helen Perera Trophy          Best achievement by a female overcoming challenges Angela Ford  
Marlow Hadler Trophy   Best Marathon Performance Rose Baker 3:15.59 in Manchester Marathon on 2 April 2017

Trophy Awards – Senior Men, Junior Men, Youths and Boys
E.C. Sheperd Memorial Trophy Best Clubman Dominic Fiore
Needham-Rider Trophy Best Performance Alex Macheath  
Steve Backley Trophy                                                          Best Field Event Performance Luke Okosieme  
Junior Challenge Trophy Best Junior Clubman Luke Moore
  U17 Clubman of the Year Joshua Olawunmi Our leading U17 XC 5th Kent. Ran for SM in SAL, never lower than 2nd. London Schools 1500m champion
David Luscombe Trophy Best U15 Clubman Samuel Hunt Competed in maximum allowed events at all YDL and KYAL matches and improved his HT, DT and SP personal bests
  U13 Clubman of the Year Ethan Fiore U13 club record 600m. Leading XC runner in age group. On the track helped out doing sprints and HJ/LJ/SP. U13 Kent 1500m champ
Bexley Trophy      Most Improved Junior Cross Country Evan Chandler Despite leg problems has got stronger and stronger. Ran for Kent Schools in 2018 for the first time.
Danson Trophy Most Improved Junior Track Reuben Chandler Improved 75m H from 16.47.21 to 14.09.29 at Kingston on 29 July 2017
Bert Jones Trophy Best 5000 Metres Performance Ben Shearer 15:31.69 at Sutcliffe Park on 24 May 2017
Peter Wishart Trophy Thrower of the Year Nana Gyedu

Trophy Awards – Race Walking
Maynard – Rider Trophy Best Performance Sophie Lewis Ward Ranked 1st U20 in the country after 24:57.51 5k RW at British Athletics Championships in Birmingham on 2 July 2017U/18 record

Trophy Awards – Cross Country              
Grand Prix Men James Macdonald
Grand Prix Women Christine Bond
Cotterill Cup (most races compared to last year) Susan Dixon

Trophy Awards – Road Running
Bill Fisher Trophy Most Improved London Marathon Performance Phil Dickens Improved his Marathon time at London by 8 mins 16 secs to 2 hours 30 mins 25 secs

Trophy Awards – Outgoing President
President's Trophy Announced by outgoing President (David Reader)